Account Closure

Players are able to initiate the deletion of their Torn account themselves via their Preferences page.

Firstly, the account is "closed". This process blocks all access to Torn for 14 days. After this period of time, the user can then return to "delete" their account.

"Deleting" your account does not actually delete it as such, but rather sanitizes it of all personal information. The following personal information is removed from the account:

  • Email address
  • Encrypted password
  • IP Addresses
  • Profile details
  • Profile signature
  • Forum signature
  • Bazaar description
  • All security panel details.

Without an email address or password, you can no longer log in to the account.

A recovery key is provided upon deletion in order to allow restoration of the account in the future if necessary.

An account having been "deleted" has no effect on any other users -- that is to say, they may still interact as normal with this account, as if the user had simply gone inactive.

In order to be allowed to restart, you must complete the deletion process on your original account. You may only have one non-deleted accounts at any one time. The entire process to restart on a new account is outlined Here

Patch History

Released in Patch list #83

Account closure system
  • Previously, players had to contact a staff member to declare their wish to delete the account. Once an account was deleted by staff (or 'self fedded'), it was irrecoverable.
  • Now, a player can instantly close their account via the preferences page - after a wait of 14 days, they can then initiate deletion of the account.
  • Deleting an account doesn't actually delete it as such, it will just sanitize it - wiping all personal information.
    • The following information is removed from the account: Email address, Encrypted password, IP Addresses, Profile details, Profile signature, Forum signature, Bazaar description and all security panel details.
  • A recovery key is provided when the account is deleted, this means even a deleted account can still be restored in the future if the owner wishes.
  • An account being closed or deleted has no effect on any other players. This process is invisible to others, and the account can still be interacted with as normal (I.e. Attacked).
  • Users wishing to restart for whatever reason, would need to fully complete the deletion process on their account before creating a new one.
Patch list #83 : 26/02/19
  • Released Account Closure system.